Calabar High School

"The Utmost for the Highest"

Track & Field

Over the 104 years of its existence, Calabar occupies a most deserved place as the most outstanding institution in the development of Jamaica’s track and field athletics. The Championship Cup for high schools was first competed for in 1910.

Calabar entered the competition in 1913 and up until 2016 had won the cup twenty six times.

They were runners up in 1918, 1921, 1922, 1924, 1928, 1929, 1995, 1998, 2004, 2006 and 2009

Note Worthy Olympians and Athletes at the junior level are:

  • Arthur Wint
  • Herb McKenely
  • Dennis Johnson
  • George Walcott
  • Patrick O’Conner
  • Howard “Birdman” Davis
  • Maurice Smith
  • Jason "Dads" Morgan
  • Maurice Wignall
  • Dwight Thomas
  • Andrew Riley
  • Travis Smikle
  • Warren Weir
  • Fredrick Dacres
  • Javon Francis
  • Micheal O’hara
  • Dejour Russel
  • Christopher Taylor

They have held on to the Mortimer Geddes Trophy for four consecutive years 2012-2016 and are the current ISSA Boys/GraceKennedy Boys Athletics Champions

The School is now the proud owner of a synthetic track opened on January 22, 2016. The successful inaugural McKenely/Wint Track and field and Field Classic was held on January 23, 2016.

Training Days:Training begins in September every evening on the track from 2:30 -4:30 pm

Head Coach: Mr. Michael Clarke

Captain: Fabian Hewitt

Staff Advisor: Ms. S. Wait and Mr. C. Rowe